‘It’s not who I truly am’: Sergio Garcia says sorry to players and fans over Saudi disqualification

0
57


‘It’s not who I truly am’: Sergio Garcia says sorry to players and fans over Saudi disqualification

  • Garcia will play on the PGA Tour for the first time since the incident this week
  • The Spaniard was disqualified for serious misconduct at the Saudi International
  • The 39-year-old posted an apology on Instagram for damaging several greens

Press Association

Sergio Garcia has apologised for his disqualification at the Saudi International, saying ‘it’s not who I truly am’.

The Spaniard was disqualified for serious misconduct under rule 1.2a after admitting to damaging greens on the front nine of Royal Greens Golf & Country Club during the third round.

Garcia will play on the PGA Tour for the first time since the incident in the Genesis Open this week and ahead of teeing off in Los Angeles, he has apologised on Instagram.

Sergio Garcia will play on the PGA Tour for the first time since the incident at the Genesis Open

Sergio Garcia will play on the PGA Tour for the first time since the incident at the Genesis Open

Sergio Garcia will play on the PGA Tour for the first time since the incident at the Genesis Open

The Spaniard apologised on Instagram after he was disqualified for serious misconduct

The Spaniard apologised on Instagram after he was disqualified for serious misconduct

The Spaniard apologised on Instagram after he was disqualified for serious misconduct

He said: ‘Happy to be in my first PGA Tour event of the season and have my brother on the bag again this year.

‘I’ve obviously had some time to reflect, and want to again say I’m sorry to my fans and fellow competitors. What happened is not an example I want to set, and it’s not who I truly am.

‘I am an emotional player and while I believe that’s one of my biggest strengths, it’s also one of my biggest flaws.

‘I’m focused on working hard to channel that emotion the correct way and to be the best me, learn from it and move forward. Thanks for all the support.’

Sergio Garcia played out of a bunker during the second round of the Saudi International

Sergio Garcia played out of a bunker during the second round of the Saudi International

Sergio Garcia played out of a bunker during the second round of the Saudi International

Garcia failed to get out of the bunker first time, causing him to blow his top

Garcia failed to get out of the bunker first time, causing him to blow his top

Garcia failed to get out of the bunker first time, causing him to blow his top

After playing his shot an irate Garcia then hacked at the sand several times in fury

After playing his shot an irate Garcia then hacked at the sand several times in fury

After playing his shot an irate Garcia then hacked at the sand several times in fury

He aggressively raked the sand too, fuming at the lie he had found his ball in

He aggressively raked the sand too, fuming at the lie he had found his ball in

He aggressively raked the sand too, fuming at the lie he had found his ball in

 

Advertisement



Source link